Journal of Australian Studies

untitledThe Journal of Australian Studies (JAS) is the journal of the International Australian Studies Association. 

JAS is a fully refereed international quarterly, which publishes scholarly articles and reviews on Australian culture, society, politics, history and literature.

The editors are particularly interested in multi and interdisciplinary work. First published in 1977, the journal is now published by Taylor & Francis.


Maggie NolanAustralian Catholic University

Julie KimberSwinburne University

Nell Musgrove – Australian Catholic University

Carolyn Holbrook
James Keating
Laura Rademaker
Thomas Rogers
Ellen Smith

Michael Lefcourt  – University of Queensland

Ien Ang – University of Western Sydney
Yasue Arimitsu – Doshisha University, Japan
Barbara Baird – Flinders University
Susan Ballyn – University of Barcelona
Deb Narayan Bandyopadhyay – Burdwan University, India
Nicholas Birns – The New School, New York
Frank Bongiorno – Australian National University
David Carter – University of Queensland
Ann Curthoys – University of Sydney
Kate Darian-Smith – University of Melbourne
Robert Dixon – University of Sydney
Catriona Elder – University of Sydney
Melissa Harper – University of Queensland
Ian Henderson – King’s College, London
Jenny Hocking – Monash University
Lars Jensen – Roskilde University
Jacqueline Lo – Australian National University
Stuart Macintyre – University of Melbourne
John Maynard – University of Newcastle
Ian McLean – University of Wollongong
Hou Minyue – East China Normal University (Shanghai)
Stephen Muecke – University of New South Wales
Lyndall Ryan – University of Newcastle
Hsu-Ming Teo – Macquarie University

Special Issues: Each year JAS has special themed issues. If you are interested in proposing an issue please contact the editors.



Submission details

Style Guidelines


The John Barrett Prize

Dr John Barrett (La Trobe University) established The John Barrett Prize to be awarded annually for the best written article published in the preceding year by JAS. 2015 Winners are:

John Barrett Award: Open Category. Kumi Kato, ‘Australia’s Whaling Discourse: Global Norm, Green Consciousness and Identity’, Journal of Australian Studies, Vol.39 No.4 (December) (2015): 477-493.

John Barrett Award: Postgraduate Category. Chelsea Barnett, ‘Man’s Man: Representations of Australian Post-War Masculinity in Man Magazine’, Journal of Australian Studies, Vol.39 No.2 (June) (2015): 151-169.

John Barrett Award: Highly Commended (Open Category). Alana Piper, ‘“I’ll have no man”: Female Families in Melbourne’s Criminal Subcultures, 1860-1920’, Journal of Australian Studies, Vol.39 No.4 (December) (2015): 444-460.

The citations can be read here.


Subscriptions to JAS are $105 per year.
 Subscription comes as part of InASA membership. JAS subscribers receive other benefits such as discounts to conferences. Click here to download a membership form. JAS is published by Taylor and Francis.