Australian Historical Association awards and prizes 2017-18

The Australian Historical Association offers four biennial and two annual prizes, which range from awards for postgraduates and support for early career research projects through to a biography award and first book award.




This biennial prize is kindly donated by Professor Emerita Susan Magarey, and is administered and judged by a panel established by the Australian Historical Association and the Association for the Study of Australian Literature. It is awarded to the female person who has published the work judged to be the best biographical writing on an Australian subject in 2016 or 2017.


This Award is sponsored by members and associates of the Australian Historical Association, the University of Tasmania, and the Port Arthur Historic Site Management Authority. Consisting of a $1,500 prize and citation, it recognises outstanding research with a bearing on Australian convict history and heritage including in its international context, published in 2016 or 2017.


The W.K. Hancock Prize was instituted in 1987 by the Australian Historical Association to honour the contribution to the study and writing of history in Australia by Sir Keith Hancock. Offering a $2,000 prize and citation, it is intended to give recognition and encouragement to an Australian scholar who has published a first scholarly book in any field of history in 2016 or 2017. Candidates must be members of the AHA at the time of application. To join the AHA, visit:


The Serle Award is a biennial prize established through the generosity of Mrs Jessie Serle to honour the contribution to Australian history of her former husband, Dr Geoffrey Serle, for the best postgraduate thesis in Australian history awarded during the previous two years. The $2,500 biennial award me be used as a publication subsidy or to subsidise other costs associated with transforming the thesis into a book, such as the cost of carrying out extra research, funding permissions, copyright fees or illustrations: these examples are not exhaustive. Candidates must be members of the AHA at the time of application. To join the AHA, visit:

Applications for the next biennial prizes to be awarded are due 31 January 2018.




The Allan Martin Award is a research fellowship to assist early career historians to further their research in Australian history. The biennial award of up to $4,000 will assist with a research trip undertaken in Australia or overseas in support of a project in Australian history. Applicants are required to show how the research is essential to the completion of their project and how the findings will be published. It must be spent within two years.

Applications for the next Allan Martin Award to be awarded are due 1 December 2018.


The Jill Roe Prize is an annual prize established by the AHA to honour the career of Professor Emerita Jill Roe. The Jill Roe Prize will be awarded annually for the best unpublished article-length work (5,000-8,000 words) of historical research in any area of historical enquiry, produced by a postgraduate student enrolled for a History degree at an Australian university. Candidates must be members of the AHA at the time of application. To join the AHA, visit:

pplications for the next Jill Roe Prize to be awarded are due 31 March 2018.


National Archives of Australia/Australian Historical Association scholarships

NAA/AHA scholarships assist talented history postgraduate scholars with the cost of copying records held in the Archives. Assistance with digital copying costs will provide access to material that might not otherwise be possible. Four scholarships worth $650 each will be awarded annually, in two rounds.

Applications for the next scholarships to be awarded are due 31 October 2017.


AHA/Copyright Agency Travel and Writing Bursaries

Ten bursaries, of $800 each, will cover travel and accommodation for participants at the AHA conference at the Australian National University, Canberra, 2–6 July 2018; the conference registration fee will be waived for bursary recipients. All presenters at the AHA conference must be members of the AHA at the time of the conference. To join the AHA, visit:

Applications for the next bursaries to be awarded will open in October 2017 and close March 2018. Keep an eye on the AHA website for further details.

Full details of the prizes can be found on the AHA website here: